NaNoWriMo 2014: Diary Entry 1

Day 3, and I’m already behind on my word count.  Why does this always happen to me every year?!

Oh, right.  Because my attention is divided between school, work, and other stories i’m obligated to finish, before I can work on my own NaNoWriMo project.  My word count so far: a woeful 916.

Augh.

Okay, well, I can catch up on that 4000 some odd words that I should have written by now.  Sure.  Totally.  In between homework, homework, homework, and a handful of chores.  I don’t know why I do this to myself every year.  On a positive note, the friend I convinced to participate in NaNoWriMo with me has been chugging right along with her word count.  Which makes me super excited, because she’s a beginner writer, that’s been wanting to get into it for a month or so now, and she was scared to do NaNoWriMo, she didn’t think anything she turned out would be very good.  Which I told her, point of NaNoWriMo is not quality but quantity. It’s a first draft, after all, you go back and edit after the month is over.

So, as I contemplate how to make up for this limp of mine right out the starting gate, here’s a short list of Things Not To Do When You Fall Behind in NaNoWriMo!

1) Post to your blog – seriously, why am I wasting words on a blog post that could be going right into that pile of 4000 I need to catch up on?

2) Check in on Twitter – which I did first thing this morning, and all last night.  For what possible purpose?  To avoid the hell out of that daunting word count goal.

3) Volunteer to run out and get tacos for dinner – did that last night, and there went an hour or so of my writing time.  Tacos were delicious though.

4) Complain – because you’ve done this to yourself.  There’s no one to blame but you and you just sound like a self-pitying sad sack when you bitch and moan about how much you suck.

5) Debate about what you should work on, homework or NaNoWriMo, then hate yourself for choosing homework – honestly, homework trumps NaNoWriMo.  The only thing I should hate myself for is setting myself up for this failure every year.  Between school and writing, I know I have to choose school (at the moment), yet I always feel like a failure when I do.  It’s a self-perpetuating cycle that spirals me down into a depression only egregious amounts of chocolate can fix.  I’m off to do homework and eat chocolate.  And hopefully, during short breaks, I can manage squeezing a productive amount of writing time in.

Best of luck to the rest of you on your NaNoWriMo!  Feel free to let me know how it’s going, especially if it’s going well and you want to rub it in my face.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

kgbethlehem

"Freedom isn't just a word, but a way of life.."

Serendipity

Was I born a masochist or did society make me this way? I demand unconditional love and complete freedom. That is why I am terrible.

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

BOOK PRICES! most at $9.99, up to $13.99 - https://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

SageDoyle

Fiction & Poetry

Limebird Writers

Let Your Creativity Fly

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

The Consortium of the Curious

For those bemused by the bizarre and engrossed in the esoteric.

dodging commas

dodging (verb) - to change suddenly, to elude or evade // commas (noun) - a mark indicating a pause or separation

weaklyshortstories

Just another WordPress.com site

Pete Denton

Writer of British Crime Fiction

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Interactive Books where YOU are the hero

Survive the Zombie Apocalypse * Solve a Mystery * Gain Superpowers

hic sunt verba

hic sunt verba/here there are words

have cake with it

One man's crusade to write a play and make it happen

A Comfortable Silence

A great WordPress.com site

Smoke Ring Collisions

Flamma fumo est proxima

