Because Nice People Pay It Forward

Guten tag everybody!

Yesterday, I was delighted…surprised…startled…intrigued, going with intrigued, intrigued to find I’d been nominated for something called a Leibster Award?  What the heck is a Leibster Award, you may ask…well, I asked, maybe you all know, I don’t know?  I thought it was a lobster or something.

And the award for best blog in the sea goes to….Gold Lobster!  YAY!!
Wow, look how happy he is!  He kind of reminds me of a ninja turtle…aww…I want one.

Apparently, it is not related to the crustacean family at all, disappointing a little…I was hungry for lobster…but, as it turns out, liebster is a German term of endearment, kind of like, “dearest” or “beloved”.  (See here for more possible “translations”).  “Dearest” Award…you know, I changed my mind, I kind of like that better than a lobster…as tasty scrumptious as lobsters are…little red roaches of the sea…fine, I’ll let it go…

Little less happy looking than the lobster, but LOOK, polka dots! Festive!

Anyhow, the more I read about this award (I didn’t actually read all that much, just skimmed a few lines, but it makes me sound like I know what I’m talking about, so roll with it), the more I came to realize it’s sort of like this: “Welcome to the Blog-o-Sphere” type of deal.  A nice way for up-and-coming bloggers to pat one another on the head and, more importantly, give one another a bit of a leg up by passing their blog name onto others and helping them build a bit of a readership, and round and round it goes, where it stops…well, let’s hope it never stops, because it’s kind of an awesome deal.

Right, so first and foremost; a HUGE thank you to the guy that nominated me, wonderful mister AdrianCharlesHoran.  Please visit his blog, I’ve giggled at more than a few of the things he’s written – the one about clucking!  Ah, so true.  He’s funny, charming, verbose, updates regularly (unlike some people I know…yes, I mean me…), and he liked my blog…so…yeah, go visit him and click on his stuff.  Somehow, that sounds wrong…

Now, rules of the award: I have to answer 11 questions provided to me by my nominator, I have to nominate 11 more blogs (these blogs must have less than 200 followers which happily reminds me I have 17 whole followers — no half or quarter followers here, whoot-whoot!  Go me!), then I have to provide my nominees with 11 new questions to answer and they have to nominate 11 more blogs and…see how this becomes an infectious cycle?

Here are the 11 questions AdrianCharlesHoran left for me — I got to be honest, I really just accepted this nomination because I love answering questions…yes, I am the person who sits in the front of the classroom and raises her hand eagerly every time the teacher asks something…don’t hate, you know you’re just jealous:

1. Scone (S gone) or Scone? (Sc own)

I don’t understand this question.  I’m not hearing the difference…oh well.  I like them both.  They’re tasty…with my coffee…reminds me, I need coffee.  Be right back!  Ah…coffee…no, got to use my Japanese (because I ditched class yesterday, who the hell holds class the day before Thanksgiving?  They’re just asking to have their class skipped): KooHee O Nomimasu!  Right…moving on.

2. What is the most adventerous thing you have ever done?

Ran the streets of Barcelona naked.  No, wait, that wasn’t me.  Um…climbed to the top of Mount Everest with only the clothes on my back…nope, not me again.  Adventurous…hm…well…no…uh…hm…I did once cross the street without looking both ways.  At a busy cross section.  Ah…yes, that was daring.

3. You’re stranded on a desert island which, funnily enough, has a portable music player on it. What are your five albums of choice?

Sweet, I love desert island questions.  Well, first would be Queen: Night At the Opera, because…duh, if I’m going to be stranded for days on end, I’m doing it to Bohemian Rhapsody.  Second, Johnny Cash: Live At Folsom Prison, because it reminds me of that time I shot a man in Reno…just to watch him die, and you know, when you’re on a desert island all alone, all you’ll have to keep sane is your memories.  Third, anything from the early nineties, because I’ll need something to melt down and make a shiv out of; practicality people!  Fourth, anything Tom Waits, because his music feels me with incomparable joy and, as a bonus, his voice will most certainly scare away any beasties at night.  Fifth and Final, Flogging Molly: Swagger, mainly, but I’ll take most anything by them because when I string together drift wood with rope made from vines and palm leaves I cut down with my campfire-made shiv, I’ll need the fierce Irish punk to play me off as I sail into the sunset.

4. Who is your favourite celebrity?

Neil Gaiman.  I know he’s just a writer, but does he count?  His publishing company refers to him as the “rockstar of the writing world”, that screams celebrity to me.

5. What do you consider to be your biggest flaw?

My inability to admit I have any flaws.  It’s a huge problem.  I mean, but come on, I’m perfect.   I never make mistakes…like typos, or putting my foot in my mouth or…once I mistook a boy for a girl, he was not thrilled…

6. If you regret doing one thing, what would it be?

Mistaking that boy for a girl.

7. We all have one – what is your hidden talent?

I  try not to keep my talents hidden.  I wave them in everyone’s face while chanting, “Look what I can do and you can’t!  Bwahahahaha!”  Sorry.  See, this is what coffee does to me.  Seriously though, my hidden talent is…uh…oh hey, apparently I can do the splits.  I learned this drunk.  Which reminds me, real quick lesson for you kiddies, if you’re going to play a drinking game to a Muppet’s movie, don’t make one of the rules: take a shot every time someone says Muppet!  You’ll remember maybe the first twenty minutes of the movie and if you’re lucky, very lucky, the credits.  But you may learn new and interesting things about yourself, like that you can do the splits.

8. What is your guiltiest of guilty pleasures?

Chocolate…no wait, cake…no, wait, cupcakes, no, no, PIE!  Pudding?  Candy, candy, candy?  Er…sweets.

9. What would you say is the world’s coolest job occupation?

Hands down: Lego Master Builder.  I mean, come on, who wouldn’t want to be paid to sit around all day and build this:

And now we see the man behind the sponge…I mean literally, look at the man behind the sponge.

I found this picture on this blog, they’ve got an interview with Lego Master Builder Stephen Gerling…er…the guy in the picture.

10. If you could have one superpower, what would it be?

Oh I love this question!  Everyone should know — if you don’t, shame on you — that I love superpowers.  Already wrote one article on it, hoping to finish writing the next one soon, and then I have a third planned.  We’ll see how that all goes, but back to the question…if I could have one superpower…hm…I changed my mind, I don’t like this question, it’s too hard.  Okay, wait, I got it…I think I would love most to have the gift of tongues, to be able to instantly speak or read any language I came across, and in that, be able to communicate and ultimately have the means to understand anyone in the world, and through that, learn their stories.

11. James Bond or Harry Potter?

I’m going to pretend this question is asking me who would win in a death match.  Now, let’s look at the contenders.  James Bond is a dashing secret agent.  He’s British, wears a suit, takes his martini “shaken not stirred”, was once portrayed by Sean Connery (always awesome), Pierce Brosnan (little less awesome) but is now being portrayed by Daniel Craig (oh so shmexy), has a tech expert called Q, and his weapon of choice: Walther PPK handgun.  Harry Potter is an awkward teenage wizard.  He’s also British, wears a school uniform and…robe, is underage so he doesn’t drink, has only ever been portrayed by Daniel Radcliff (battle of the Daniels…), has a frizzy haired expert called Hermione, and his weapon of choice: a wand with a Phoenix feather core purchased at Ollivander’s in his first year.

While Bond can charm the panties off any lady, and easily defeat blade-rimmed hat throwing lackeys, Harry ended up with his best friend’s sister and can easily outwit your stereotypical stupid lackeys…though just barely.  It almost seems as though Bond has everything going for him, heck, he’s saved the world from countless monologue-ing villains, compared to Harry saving the world countless times from the same monologue-ing villain, and Bond always gets the girl in the end, it took Harry seven books to finally get a girl, but we mustn’t forget, Harry’s a wizard.  All the dash and daring do a secret agent can muster is always going to have a bit of difficulty against magic, especially when a flick of a wand can add warts and buckteeth (Not Daniel Craig’s face, nooooooo!), another flick takes away the Walther PPK, and a final flick, can transmute Bond into a teacup.

So, I guess in this death match, Harry wins by a wand flick.  Not as exciting a rumble as I hoped it would be.

And now that that is over and done with, on to the nominees.  I had a lot of trouble finding blogs with less than 200 followers, mainly because most blogs I checked didn’t have their number of followers listed anywhere, so if I nominated you and you have more than 200 followers, just accept the award anyway and pay it forward, because no one will know except you that you weren’t actually eligible.  Unless your conscience can’t take it.  Damn you, Jiminy!

My nominees:

Smoke Ring Collisions

On Becoming a Wordsmith

Danielle Bukowski 

Wake Up Tired   — blog name too awesome to resist….

On The Wings of the Hummingbird

Skeleton Road

Richard Bowker

Jamie Stokes 

hic sunt verba

havecakewithit  — because of the cake…ah…guilty pleasures…

A Comfortable Silence

There they are…gosh, I hope that’s 11.  Welcome to the blogging world people!  (Even though many of you have probably been blogging much longer than me…) Onto their questions:

1.  Think of three things you can’t live without.  What are they, why, and how would your life be different if you had to live without them?

2.  If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be?

3.  What is your least favorite book and why?

4.  If you could go back in time and change one thing, what would it be?

5.  You’re having a dinner party and can invite three people, dead or alive, who do you invite?

6.  You die, and are given the choice to be reincarnated into any organism in the world except human, what do you choose?

7.  What is the Golden Ratio?

8.  You’re in a good relationship with someone, but randomly stumble across your first love, who confesses he/she believes you’re their soulmate and proposes on the spot, what do you do?

9.  You’ve finished painting your masterpiece, what does it look like?

10.  You’re given the option to change the pigment of your skin any color of the rainbow, so long as it’s not a natural skin color, what color do you choose?

11.  Which is the movie you’ve watched more times than any other movie?

And there they all are.  I hope I didn’t make my questions too hard…and that my nominees realize they’ve been nominated and answer them.

Right, now I have breakfast to go eat.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

kgbethlehem

"Freedom isn't just a word, but a way of life.."

Serendipity

Was I born a masochist or did society make me this way? I demand unconditional love and complete freedom. That is why I am terrible.

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

BOOK PRICES! most at $9.99, up to $13.99 - https://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

SageDoyle

Fiction & Poetry

Limebird Writers

Let Your Creativity Fly

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

The Consortium of the Curious

For those bemused by the bizarre and engrossed in the esoteric.

dodging commas

dodging (verb) - to change suddenly, to elude or evade // commas (noun) - a mark indicating a pause or separation

weaklyshortstories

Just another WordPress.com site

Pete Denton

Writer of British Crime Fiction

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Interactive Books where YOU are the hero

Survive the Zombie Apocalypse * Solve a Mystery * Gain Superpowers

hic sunt verba

hic sunt verba/here there are words

have cake with it

One man's crusade to write a play and make it happen

A Comfortable Silence

A great WordPress.com site

Smoke Ring Collisions

Flamma fumo est proxima

